An overview of the parts of the Indian Constitution

Will you be surprised if we say that India has the world’s lengthiest constitution? The constitution of India is written with 146,385 words in the English version. The constitution of India decides the supreme law of India. The document involves a complicated framework that discusses the fundamental political codes, their structure, procedures, and the respective duties of any government body. The constitution goes on including all the fundamental rights, duties of citizens, and other directive principles.

constitution of india

Indian constitution contained about 395 Articles in 22 parts and eight schedules initially that came in effect on 26th Jan 1950.

Total parts and amendment in Indian Constitutions 

After 1950, the constitution has been going through lots of evolution. Several additions and amendments are already made. Though we have previously mentioned that the constitution included 395 articles in 22 parts, now the number of articles has been increased to 448. For the extra 53 articles, there have been added extra three parts. The total number of parts in the Indian constitution has been increased to 25.

You may be surprised to learn that there are a total of 104 amendments that took place on 25th Jan 2020 for the purpose of extending the reservation of seats for STs and SCs in the state assemblies and Lok Sabha.

However, the one hundred and Twenty-fourth Amendment bill was introduced in Lok Sabha by Mr. Thaawar Chand Gehlot, Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment, on 8th Jan 2019. This bill was introduced to improve the “financially weaker section.”

What are the parts of the Indian constitution? 

Though initially, it has only 22 parts but later extra three parts were added to make it 25. Let’s have a look at all the parts at a glance.

Part I

Subject: The Union and its territory

Articles: 1 to 4

Part II

Subject: Citizenship

Articles: 5 to 11

Part III

Subject: Fundamental Rights

Articles:12 to 35

Part IV

In this part, subjects and articles numbers are as followed:

  • Directive Principles of State Policy (36 to 51)
  • IV-A ( Fundamental Duties) – 51-A

Part V

In this part, subjects and articles numbers are as followed:

  • The Union Government ( 52 to 151)
  • Chapter I – The Executive ( 52 to 78)
  • Chapter II – Parliament ( 79 to 122)
  • Chapter III – Legislative Powers of President ( 123)
  • Chapter IV – The Union Judiciary ( 124 to 147 )
  • Chapter V – Comptroller and Auditor-General of India ( 148 to 151)

Part VI

In this part, subjects and articles numbers are as followed:

  • The State Governments ( 152 to 237 )
  • Chapter I – General ( 152 )
  • Chapter II – The Executive ( 153 to 167 )
  • Chapter III – The State Legislature ( 168 to 212 )
  • Chapter IV – Legislative Powers of Governor ( 213 )
  • Chapter V – The High Courts ( 214 to 232 )
  • Chapter VI – Subordinate Courts ( 233 to 237 )

Part VII

Subject: Repealed by Const. (7th Amendment) Act, 1956


Subject: The Union Territories

Articles: 239 to 242

Part IX

Subject: The Panchayats

Articles: 243 to 243-O

It has Ix-A and Ix-B that respectively includes The Municipalities ( 243-P to 243-ZG ) and The Co-operative Societies ( 243-ZH to 243-ZT )

Part X

Subject: The Scheduled and Tribal Areas

Articles: 244 to 244-A

Part XI

In this part, subjects and articles numbers are as followed:

  • Relations between the Union and the States ( 245 to 263 )
  • Chapter I – Legislative Relations ( 245 to 255 )
  • Chapter II – Administrative Relations ( 256 to 263 )

Part XII

In this part, subjects and articles numbers are as followed:

  • Finance, Property, Contracts, and Suits ( 264 to 300-A )
  • Chapter I – Finance (264 to 291)
  • Chapter II – Borrowing ( 292 to 293 )
  • Chapter III – Property, Contracts, Rights, Liabilities ( 294 to 300 )
  • Chapter IV – Right to Property ( 300-A )


Subject: Trade, Commerce

Articles: 301 to 307

Part XIV

Subject: Services under the Union and the States

Articles:308 to 323

Part XV

Subject: Elections

Articles: 324 to 329-A

Part XVI

Subject: Provisions relating to Classes

Articles:330 to 342


Article no from 343 to 351

  • Official Language
  • Chapter I – Language of the Union
  • Chapter II – Regional Languages
  • Chapter III-Language of the Supreme and High Courts
  • Chapter IV-Special Directives


Subject: Emergency Provisions

Articles: 352 to 360

Part XIX

Subject: Miscellaneous

Articles: 361 to 367

Part XX

Subject: Amendment of the Constitution

Articles: 368

Part XXI

Subject: Temporary and Special Provisions

Articles: 369 to 392


Subject: Short title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi

Articles: 393 to 395

Apart from the above mentioned, the other three parts are 9A Municipalities, 9B Co-operative societies, and 14A tribunals.


Till now, we have discussed the parts of the Indian Constitution. However, it has 12 schedules initially. India is run by these parts and articles. Ignoring the constitution may be dangerous with the worst consequences. I hope this article helps you. If you want to learn more, you may leave your query in the comment section.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *